Breastfeeding Tips & Necessities

When I first decided to breastfeed, I was absolutely clueless about what would happen and what I would need. I turned to google, but couldn’t really find any content that provided me with the best information. Now that I am blogging again, I figured what better way to make a comeback than to share with you all my tips on breastfeeding and items I found absolutely necessary. I hope I’m able to help at least one person with this post!

  • Don’t Stress : If you follow any of these tips, this is the one to follow! Low stress levels will help your milk come in…if you stress it will affect your milk production.
  • Put baby to breast right away : When you put your baby to breast right away, it helps them develop the skills to nurse faster and makes it easier on you!
  • Ask to see the Lactation Consultant : Most (if not all) hospitals have a Lactation Consultant on site. Ask for them to come to your room , and ask them for all the tips they can think of. Discuss different holding positions with them as well, and find the best position for you and your baby.
  • Don’t give up! : For the first two weeks, it can be painful and tiring…but don’t give up! It is so rewarding to push through! Below I will list some items that are really good for the pain during the first few weeks!

img_2979

  • Hakka : This has been one of my most used breastfeeding related items! When your baby is nursing, you suction this on the other breast and it catches all of your leakage! Perfect for wasting no breastmilk and building a storage! Here is a Hakka for less than $10!!
  • Pump(s) : Pumps are definitely needed for moms who are going back to work, or moms who want dads’ help with feeding! There are two different type of pumps, which are breast pumps and hand pumps. Here are both types of pumps that I personally use and recommend! Hand Pump & Breast Pump
  • Tank tops & Flowy Shirts : If you’re anything like me, you don’t want to give up your cute clothing ! I have been wearing tank tops under all of my shirts, so I can just pull the top of the tank down and lift the top layer shirt up to breastfeed. This will prevent the breast from being exposed, and won’t make baby feel uncomfortable like some covers do! I just wear your typical tanks you can find really cheap at Walmart!
  • Breastmilk Storage Bags & Bottles : If you’re going to be using a pump and/or Hakka, you’re going to need storage bags and/or bottles. I actually use both, depending on if it’s going in the fridge or freezer! The two brands of storage bags I prefer are Up & Up™ and Lansinoh. The storage bottles I use are by the brand Nenesupply, which are compatible with my Spectra S2 pump.

I hope you were able to take some useful information from my post! Everything I shared with you is exactly what was been working for me. Every breastfeeding experience is unique, which makes it even more beautiful. If you’re planning on breastfeeding, know that YOU CAN DO THIS! If you’re already breastfeeding, comment below and let me know what works for you and how long you’ve been breastfeeding! Thank you all for reading today, til next time!

🖤

Mama B

24 thoughts on “Breastfeeding Tips & Necessities

  1. I’m going to try the hakka once Baby #2 is here! I didn’t know about it with my first. I’m not sure how it will work for me since I never noticed much leaking on the opposite side anyway, but I figure it can’t hurt to try… especially at such an affordable price!

    Like

    • It works great! Even if you don’t leak, it will get some milk out. 🙂 The suction tricks your breast into thinking a baby is nursing. It has been my savior when it comes to building a freezer stash! Let me know how you like it once you try it out. And congrats on baby #2!

      Like

  2. Ha! Nice tips. I’m so glad I don’t have to get up at night and do breastfeeding while the baby is awake for several hours and wants to play rather than sleep. No wait, I DO have to do the 2nd part, LOL! It’s actually awesome 😉

    Like

  3. So thoughtful of you to share the experience with all of us. My sister is one month away from her delivery, I will share this with her. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  4. Although my man boobs seem to be growing day by day, I don’t think I’ll be breastfeeding anytime soon. However, my wife will be, we have a little one due in less than 3 months so this advice is timely and will help me be a supportive husband. Thanks for sharing your tips.

    Like

  5. I’m not a mother yet but your article was very eye-opening. I had no idea that breastfeeding was painful and that mothers went through stress feeding their newborn child. Your article has certainly taught me a lot about being a first time mother. Very insightful and useful. Thank you!

    Like

    • You’re very welcome! Yes, it can be incredibly painful the first week while breastfeeding. Most women also stress because they worry they won’t produce enough milk, but it is very rare for that to happen. It happens (ironically) when you stress, which is why it’s a major point to not stress about it! 🙂 Breastfeeding is VERY much worth it though!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

